December roses, pearls and praise

It’s starting to feel like winter here in Southern Ontario and Ron spotted our first snowflakes this morning. We’ve put the snow tires on the car and we’re ready for anything mother nature decides to dole out to us during the next three or four months. Personally, I’ll just hunker down and work on the final details of my autobiography for the next 16 weeks. This blog post is proof that I procrastinate. However, I promised myself at least two hours of writing this afternoon. I use a mac dictation program, any more than two hours and my voice gives out.

On the way in from a trip to the grocery store yesterday, Ron plucked the last rose from our garden and put it in a crystal vase for me on the kitchen windowsill where I couldn’t help but see it. I love the rose but his message to me by doing what he did warmed me right down to my little CMT paralyzed toes. When he goes for a walk in the spring he brings home wildflowers from the trails he loves. Last summer he brought me home a small amber bottle that was used to feed medicine to a calf and was discarded in the field behind the cemetery where we have our plot.  It’s way out in the boonies and no one bothers him if he wants to wander around the fields out there. The little things mean a lot to me; he’s thinking about me as he’s walking, and I am thinking of him as he is out there hoping to God he doesn’t fall in a hole and break something. That’s why I always make sure he has our cell phone with him. If he’s stranded or hurt out in the fields we could likely find him by checking the phone.  He’s almost 80, and thankfully he doesn’t do much backwoods walking anymore but picking roses for me in December? That he can still safely do and I love him for it.

img_2036-1

I’ve never done this before but I know there are several hundred of you who read this blog and I thought I’d ask if anyone would be interested in a beautiful double string of cultured pearls I have that I can no longer wear. They are 14 to 15 inches long and now, in my later years, I am more comfortable with something longer than that. I have a full insurance appraisal for them that I will put here and ask that if you think you might like them email me at  linda@lindacrabtree.com.  I’ve only worn them once and they are too beautiful to just sit, year after year, in a box. If you wear them with the large mabe pearl clasp (mabe pearl is different from a traditional pearl in the way that it is grown and shaped. Regular pearls have a round shape, but mabe pearls have a half-spherical shape caused by the way the pearls are grown on the inside of the pearl oyster’s shell rather than within the mollusk’s body.) to the front they are stunning. I’ve only worn them once and that’s the way I wore them.

Elsie Yeung, G.G., at A Division of Rikki Jewellery, 21 Dundas Sq., Suite 608, Toronto dated August 13, 2002: one  2–rows of necklace [14 to 15”] of 97 cultured pearls set with 1 – 14 karat (stamped) yellow gold mabe pearl clasp. They are quite round, measuring from 6.50 mm to 7.00 mm. They are almost round, have find lustre and are well matched. They are medium spotted and have a thick translucent coating of cream colour.
Total weight of items: 57.50 grams.
Suggested insurance coverage: $3, hello use500.00
I paid $1,200. plus tax $1.380. and would like $600. Canadian, $500. U.S. Photo below.

img_2022

Thanks to everyone who suggested remedies from my spider bite. You are truly a caring group of friends. Ron bought several boxes of spider traps and placed them around my bedroom. I don’t know if that’ll work or not but at least I feel a little more secure. The swelling and redness in my face has gone down a great deal and a little dab of yellow concealer goes a long way to even up the blush on both cheeks.

That’s it for now, I really do have to get to my writing. I promise.:)

Till next time,

Linda

2 Responses

  1. The rose is beautiful and so’s the vase, but best of all is the thoughtfulness of your caring husband, Ron. Wishing you both all the best. 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to read the book. Your voice is your own when you write and I’m sure that will come through in your memoir also. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

