Facing up to Texas…Help!

Last Sunday morning I woke up and noticed a little bump on my left cheek. The phone rang and and after talking for about 10 minutes I went into bathroom to wash my face. I noticed the bump was more like a dent and I figured it was from holding the phone  up against my cheek. However, as the day progressed the bump became an angry, red blotch that ran down my face and up towards my eye. The next morning the face in the mirror was pretty alarming. The left side of my face was swollen, very red and there was a pocket of fluid there that was hot and hard. Gads!  I made an appointment with our GP for that afternoon and he suggested it was simply an insect bite, likely from a spider. Simply, gads!, I was starting to suggest that Ron call me Willy Lump-lump. The doc suggested I take Benadryl and gave me a prescription for Biaxin, an antibiotic, should it become infected.

img_2018

By Monday night my left cheek was very swollen and the swelling was going up into the tissue surrounding my eye. The photo was taken Monday.

By Wednesday it looked like the state of Texas on my cheek and my eye was almost closed shut.

Yesterday, things start to cool down and by last night Texas had lost its panhandle that formerly drooped downto my cheek.

This morning I can open my eye and the swelling has gone down considerably but I am wondering if any of you know anything I can use to decrease the swelling even further and get back to normal. I am one of those people who, when bitten by a black fly, takes forever for the itching, swelling and oozing to go away….like a month! I don’t want to look like I do now f0r another three weeks if I don’t have to. I have been using a neem oil stick on the skin and it takes the itch factor down considerably. The Benadryl puts me to sleep within 20 minutes of taking it.

If anyone has any suggestions as to how to take the swelling down and the redness away even further I’d appreciated it. This is a first for me and I don’t quite know how to deal with it. Also, if anyone knows any way to get rid of spiders, I am all ears. Something bit me while I was in bed and it makes me cringe to think that whatever it was, is still there. In the past I have shown you the pictures of orchids I grow under lights in my bedroom. My most recent acquisitions are from Florida, I think, and there are very different spiders there than there are in Canada. It is entirely possible a spider came in with my newest orchids.

Does anyone know of any kind of bait I can put out or trap for spiders as I don’t want to spray the bedroom being very allergic to any kind of spray.

Thank you, my friends, f0r any suggestions you can give.

Linda

p.s. – One thing I’ve learned from this is that the world will not dissolve if I don’t spend the afternoon at my computer. Thanks, Benadryl.

11 Responses

  1. Hi Linda;

    I have utilized this website http://www.earthclinic.com in the past with good results and have found it very helpful, full of natural remedies for multiple ailments. Take the time to read the comments from other individuals suffering from the same condition. Good Luck!

    Scott

  2. Hi Linda! We seem to have insect bites occasionally at night also. Mosquitoes, maybe a small spider. If you can find out what to put out I would also like to know. We have 2 inside cats and cannot spray or put out poison. Hopefully all will be well with you. I got bit the first time in out apartment pool by a bee and got cellulitis. Worst pain I have ever had in my foot. Never been allergic to Bees. Took 3 months, Antibiotics IV for it to finally go away. Take Care my friend.

  3. Hi Auntie,
    Here are some natural ideas Essential oils act as insect and spider repellents. Place a few drops of oil in a large spray bottle with water. There are several essential oils that are are repellents and will leave your home with pleasant aromas. Lavender, peppermint, rose, citrus, cinnamon, tee tree, citronella and eucalyptus work fine. Spray the areas where you discovered spiders and other likely places that both insects and spider could take up comfortable residence. Under bathroom and kitchen sinks, near door and window entryways, and food pantries are great places. Catnip oil also acts as an insect repellent.

    Borax powder is environmentally friendly and if places in the right places can be effective particularly against roaches. It is a powder and can cause a mess, so look for places that are out of the way such as areas at the bottom of bathroom vanity cabinets and outside windowsills. There are likely many areas in the garage where the Borax can be effective yet unseen. Read more about Borax Powder why it works for natural insect control.

    Look up Apis for swelling it is a homeopathic remedy for swelling
    Love ya

  4. Hi Linda…..both hubby & I have had bites from spiders (eek) &/or wasps leaving red blotchy & itchy spots. We use baking soda mixed w/water to dab on the itchy…… it is soothing, Calamine lotion is good. Ice on the red patch may help. Here in Oregon we have the Brown Recluse Spider that likely got hubby once, a red line began traveling on his arm & I knew that was a warning. Got him into see the DR who gave him something to prevent blood poisoning, I think. Years ago. Hope by now you’re much improved!!! Barb

  5. Hi Linda Check out this option:
    Use Vinegar. White vinegar has about five trillion uses around the house (look it up!), and repelling spiders is one of them! Repelling spiders with vinegar is much like repelling them with peppermint oil, in that you fill a spray bottle with vinegar and water, and spray all the cracks and crevices around your home.
    Best of Luck,
    Fintan. (Ireland)

    • Hi everyone and hhank you for all your advice regarding treatment of the spider bite and how to get rid of it. It has now been seven days and my face is still somewhat red and partially swollen but it is nothing like it was last Monday and Tuesday and I can honestly say it is definitely on the mend. I really appreciate all your tips regarding treatment and will keep them all mind should it happen again but I am hoping it won’t. I have checked with our local hardware store and they sell spider traps much like the ones recommended here. We will be getting some next week and I’ll be putting them in several places around my bedroom as well as in with y the orchids. Again thank you all very much.

  6. http://www.wikihow.com/Get-Rid-of-Spiders-in-the-House

    I’m guessing you can google as well as I Linda, but this seems quite thorough and several no-toxic solutions. Horse chestnuts! When I had shingles the best relief for the extreme facial pain was ice packs.

    Praying for a speedy recovery for you,

    Anita

  7. Boy that looks uncomfortable. My mom always made a paste of baking soda and water and we spread that on any kind of bite. Looks not so nice, but as it dries it cools it down. That and some liquid Vitamin E rubbed on it will help it heal faster. If you don’t have it in a bottle, just take one of the capsules apart and use the oil in there. Hope it goes away soon!

  8. Ice! I always use ice on any bite and I’m like you any bite makes me swell up and turn red. God bless!

  9. For spiders and other crawling insects I have sticky mouse pads that fold into boxes that I tuck between the night stand and wall. Need to keep the pets safe. (Learned after a spider bite in bed.) Place on both interior sides of exterior doors as the weather gets cooler. After doing this the first Autumn and the amount of bugs that migrate into my home I now have sticky traps tucked against walls behind furniture all over the house.

    • Thanks Bonnie: I now have sticky pad insect traps in eight places in my bedroom. My face has gone down and all I’m left with is a little red bump where the little beggar bit me and even that it is getting smaller. Thanks again everyone.

Leave a Reply

